Prime Brass and Organ in Ely Cathedral

Date: Sunday 7 September 2014
Time: 1715
Venue: Ely Cathedral, Chapter House, The College, Ely, Cambridgeshire, CB7 4DL (Directions)

Conductor: Paul Trepte
Organ: Edmund Aldhouse

Our annual brass-and-organ spectacular in the magnificent setting of Ely Cathedral. The programme is built around works by three consecutive Masters of the Queen's Music composed in honour of cities. The main work is 'Three Cities' by Malcolm Williamson, which celebrates Konstanz, Richmond and Fontainebleau. His predecessor in the post was Sir Arthur Bliss, whose 'Greetings to a City' was composed for the American Wind Symphony of Pittsburgh and performed by them on tour to cities throughout the USA and Europe. Before Bliss came Sir Arnold Bax, who starts the concert with his 'Salute to Sydney', the birthplace of Williamson, the first non-Briton to have held the post. Another British composer of distinction, John Gardner, features prominently in the programme with his 'Sonata Secolare'. As a further foil to city-themed works, we turn to the mountains with an arrangement of the final section of Richard Strauss's epic 'Alpine Symphony' in the composer's 150th anniversary year. For the concert's finale we return once again to a city in Mussorgsky's 'Great Gate of Kiev'.

Arnold Bax -- Salute to Sydney
John Gardner -- Sonata Secolare
Arthur Bliss -- Greetings to a City
Richard Strauss -- An Alpine Symphony (excerpts: On the Summit, Epilogue, Night)
Malcolm Williamson -- Three Cities (Konstanz, Richmond, Fontainebleau)
Mussorgsky -- The Great Gate of Kiev from 'Pictures at an Exhibition'

Further details: Ely Cathedral Organ Recital Series.

Back to concerts listing